Holy Guacamole, Batman!

My heart is pounding, my palms are sweaty…and it’s all Global Math Department’s fault!

I just watched the “My Favorites: Problem-Based Learning and Tasks” discussion held on October 1, 2013. It was fantastic! I heard some great ideas and learned of some new websites to check out…Oh. My. Gosh.  I couldn’t help myself…I had to leave the slide show periodically to click around the web and explore while still listening in.  I was taking notes on my Stickies app while I was listening–I couldn’t type fast enough! So many fabulous ideas were flowing…I think I’ll just make a list and you’ll have to check it out for yourself!

Emergent Math Curriculum Maps (super-excited about this given our district is working on this for CCSS implementation next year)

Julie Reulbach’s take on Jo Boaler’s Four Fours (I love Julie’s modification to make it individual then bring in the group-work element)

nrich.maths.org: I’ll have to click around this one a little bit to get a feel for it.  It’s UK-based, but the folks who developed the page were kind enough to include US grade-level equivalents.

4 thoughts on “Holy Guacamole, Batman!

  1. Thanks so much for the synopsis and links! There’s so much exciting information out there and this week was just filled with it!!

    So happy you found it just as exciting and the keyboard typing didn’t stop!

  2. Having participated in two of GMD’s live sessions, I know the feeling of trying to keep up with the steady stream of good things being presented. After reading your post, I’m definitely going to have to check out this session. Thanks for your recap!

  3. algebrasfriend says:

    Just finished watching the GM Autumn Special. Too many great ideas to process! Blogging helps … or at least it puts the ideas in a place where we can find them again to review them!

Leave a Reply

